Why does Scrivener not export my text?

Hi,

I’m new to Scrivener and am exporting a mss for the first time. I’ve got a bunch of folders each with its own text document inside, and want to make one long document, but with a title for each folder/section. (It’s a collection of short essays.) Each folder has a title and I want that title to show up inside the document.

When I try to compile and export, however, I get this: CHAPTER ONE, then the title of the folder, and NO TEXT.

I’ve tried various different things, unchecking and checking various boxes, but can’t get the text to export.

I’m going crazy with frustration here, and thinking that Word was just so, SO much easier (i.e. regretting my Scrivener purchase :cry: )

Can anyone help? Thanks!

Can you tell (or show with a screen capture) what your Formatting compile settings are? Do the appropriate rows show check-marks on the Text column? Are the “Include in Compile” checkmarks in the Contents pane showing as checked for your text documents?

Edit: By the way, if your window is wide enough and the binder is visible, make sure that some of your chapters & the text files in those folders are visible. When you select a row in the Formatting pane of compile, it will highlight the folders or documents which that row will affect. Note that having a setting (like the include-in-compile checkbox) set to exclude a document will prevent it from being highlighted.

Hello and thank you very much for this reply! Somehow I didn’t get notified that it was here … so much to learn!!

Anyway, on trying this again I highlighted the folders I wanted to compile, and that way managed to get the text included. However, none of the titles show up. I wonder if that’s because, instead of having each essay as a text document inside a folder, I set them up as separate folders. (Did I mention this is my first time using Scrivener?)