Window 11 - Scrivener freezes when autosave into Dropbox

I hesitate to post this issue as it may only apply on my systems (both a desktop and a laptop). However, as the issue is affecting both computers, I thought I would ask if anyone else is having the same issue.

I have been using Scrivener for many years without problems. All my documents are kept in Dropbox so that a can synchronise between desktop, laptop and iPad. I have not had any problems to date.

21 January I installed the Window 11 update (KB5010795). Since installing the update the system freezes for about 1-2 seconds every time the document autosaves. The autosave was set for 2 seconds inactivity. I have now set autosave to 30 seconds which has improved the situation a little bit, but doesn’t stop Scrivener freezing when it autosaves [note: I didn’t have this problem before the update].

For reference, the version of Dropbox is 140.4.1951.

How did you confirm this was a problem with Dropbox? Asking because it may not be. So, step 1 I would suggest making a copy of one of your problem projects in a temporary non-Dropbox folder. Use File > Save As and be sure to name the test project to something so glaringly obvious that you can’t confuse it for the real project. :nerd_face:

If you’re still experiencing the issue in the test project, then it’s not Dropbox. In that event, the first place I would look is your antivirus, as the Win11 upgrade may have changed things under the cover. So, step 2 try disabling your AV and seeing if that makes a difference. If it does, then whitelist the Scrivener program folder in the AV.

Best,
Jim

1 Like

You may need to go exclude the Scrivener installation folder from Smartscreen and Windows Defender (or whatever anti-virus/security suite you are using) again. Also ensure that you have the latest Dropbox client installed. This sounds like something is intercepting the writes to disk.