Windows version 3.1.4.0 [1905013] is shortening my life; need help

I am brand new to Scrivener and have been playing with it in a test project on my iPad Pro as well as on my iPad Mini. Both beautifully sync and work well as I move back and forth between devices. However, as I am trying to figure out the more feature-rich Windows version, I seem to be breaking projects and am close to leaving this software. Clearly I am very frustrated.

On my iPad, I enjoy Scrivener. I love how I see a list of my projects under “Dropbox” and can click on one to move into that environment to get to work - very intuitive. In Windows, however, after an hour of a relentlessly furrowed brow, I am now on my second shot of whiskey - and by shot, I mean I am drinking out of a coffee mug. Call me stupid but I struggled to figure out that I had to manually sync an individual project that I created on my iPad to bring them into my Surface Pro just so I could see it. That took me time to figure out, and it took me time to figure out where the hell the project was in Dropbox. Then it took me time to figure out that I have to directly pull projects file-by-file from Dropbox to live in Scrivener as a projects.

However, I am now realizing that I have mistakenly imported my iPad project into the Windows test project (of whatever the project name is that houses the tutorial when you open Scrivener for the very first time). While I was happy to discover how to sync properly (or I thought I did since I could see my project), I felt too lost in the Windows environment so I returned to my iPad, if at least to lower my blood pressure.

When I tapped on my project on my iPad, the system informed me that the files are not in a format that cannot be opened on mobile devices:

UNSUPPORTED PROJECT FILE FORMAT.