Wish list: two requests and a half (add your own!)

Hi there. I am a keen Scapple user. I have seen some feature request in other posts, but here I would like to present my own one(s), and, perhaps, encourage others to do so. Scapple is an great program. IMHO, its main virtue is to do what most people need in a simple, fast and intuitive way. As other poster said, there is very little “friction” preventing you from throwing in ideas and thoughts. Kudos for that.

Now, I mostly use it in order to outline my classes, lectures or papers (I am an university teacher). Even if Scapple has quickly become my favourite program for this purposes, I still miss a couple of features that would make it the perfect program for me (and which, very likely, would also be welcome by other users). Most importantly, I think that these features could be not too complex to code:

1.Automatic creation of links to drag-and-dropped files. This is an absolute must, which other posters have already commented on. It would make things much more simple than having to write a note, highlight all of its text by repeatedly clicking on it, hitting Cmd+L, writing “file://” in the box that appears, navigating to the file, and, finally, dragging and dropping it in the box. This is just so Un-Scapple-is! This is “friction”, indeed.

(1b.While the above is coded (please, please do it!), it would be great if the notes with embedded links would not look like regular links (blue, underlined text). This spoils the whole look of the page. Could notes with links be just added a small icon?).

1. It would be just perfect if Scapple allowed me to drag and drop highlighted text from a website or file AND included a record (visible or hidden, you choose) indicating where the text was taken from --or or, even better, a small icon linking to its source. I believe that this feature alone would instantly transform Scapple into the favorite application for many teachers and researchers.