Wishes for Meta Data/Project Statistics

I’ve been using Scrivener for several years now, and would love to say thank you for the great software! :slight_smile:

I’d like to add two things to the wish list, and I know I can get around them, sort of, but…

1. I like to compile as I work and in doing so, I was unaware that checking and unchecking Include in Compile changes the Date Modified setting—in fact, changing any meta data invokes the issue. I’m not sure why it does this, as I figured only changing the text would actually modify the timestamps on this (though reading through another topic, I see that the file itself could be changed). I’m not sure if there is a fix or if I’ll have to deal by using File>Export. As some projects I use are short stories I’d rather not have to do this; I want to have a finished, formatted file without changing modification dates of other stories/chapters/etc.

2. Because I tend to write shorter fiction, I’ve become accustomed to doing things with compile. For novel length works, I still tend to use the compile feature. I read that Project Statistics uses the Compile feature to do word count. I noticed in the 2.2 update that Projected Statistics now includes the words (as compiled) after the title. In the Options pane, I see rather counterintuitive text: Count current compile group only (which is unchecked, and yet that is what is happening) and Count all documents/Count only documents marked for inclusion/Count only documents not marked for inclusion. I notice that it doesn’t quite matter what I have check as the options don’t seem to work. What the point of this ramble is: I’d like to know my word count and statistics of the entire project, not just the compiled version, and the options seem to suggest that this is possible.