Words from Text are Missing from Folder and Scrivenings View

I’m working on a novella, currently ~37,000 words, in Scrivener. This is my first time using the program.

My first chapter is a single text file in a single folder, nested in the manuscript. Like this:
Manuscript(Folder)
___> Chapter One(Folder)
______> Chapter One(Text)

When I view the text file for the first chapter, everything shows up as it should, but when I move one or two levels up, viewing it by clicking on the folder or manuscript in the binder, I lose 465 words from the end. It is replaced in this view by a large blank space, possibly the length of the missing passage. Within the blank space, you can highlight (at the top only) what looks like two hard returns and a line with nothing in it. Nothing beyond that is selectable.

The same blank space shows up in Scrivenings view.

HOWEVER, if I switch to full screen in both folder and Scrivenings view, the words show up as they should.

Also, if I compile the novella into a .Mobi, the words are there, thankfully.

I tried copypasting the text into a new text file, but nothing changed. The same words are missing, the same blank space appears.

I’m wondering if this is a bug, or if there is something I can do to retain these words in all views. I’m worried about losing text, of course, since that would be disastrous with this project. Since I’m new to Scrivener, I’m wondering what I can try that I haven’t.

Edit: I tried breaking the file up into two files, splitting off the last 1,400 words of chapter one into a second text file, and things appear to be showing up now in all views.

Is there a maximum limit for text files? It was only around 5,000 words. I have some that are over 8,000. Is there something that would cause problems over ~4,000 words?