Working download

I’m a beginner. Not lazy, just insecure. I’ve been working happily (happily!) with Scrivener for a couple of months. However, I think I may not have never completed the download properly. I have never seen the “starry starry night” screen, for instance. After reading various horror stories about people losing months of work, I have anxiety about proceeding to correct things.

I had never put a disk into my Macbook until yesterday, when I successfully managed to do that and drag a copy of my work onto the disk. Now I’m backed up and I’m ready to proceed.

Maybe what I’ve got is fine. When I click on the desktop icon, I get the cork-board window. But I always have 2 icon images of Scrivener on the desktop when I open it, and then I have to look around for a way to stop the scrivener icon from bouncing in the Dock.

Step 5 in installation isn’t clear to me. Where is my “Applications directory in the Finder?” Do I have to open my hard drive to get there? Or is that “directory” the one to the left of the cork-board?

Step 7 isn’t clear to me either. Where is the “icon under the “Devices” section in the Finder”?

Will I be able to drag the backed-up copy onto the newly downloaded Scrivener?
How do I trash the present copy of Scrivener before downloading the “new” copy of Scrivener?

Sorry to ask such elemental questions …

No, you didn’t complete it properly. But wait patiently. Someone will clear everything up pretty soon, I’m pretty sure of it.

Hi,

Sorry, I’ve had family visiting since Thursday so haven’t had as much time to answer forum questions as usual, but are these the instructions you referenced?

literatureandlatte.com/wiki/ … _Scrivener

I have to be honest that I’m not sure how to make that page any clearer (my own failing I’m sure), but I’ll do my best to answer your questions: