Working with Chapters Instead of Scenes

I am a complete beginner with this software despite the fact that I’ve owned it since roughly 2016. Trying to re-establish use today reminded me why I stopped trying to use it: there is just so much offered within the software that I am completely overwhelmed. Furthermore, the directions and tips within the “New Project” template for a novel is just as baffling. As the title might suggest, I want to work with chapters as a whole rather than individual scenes. The “Novel Format” section at the very top of the binder area mentions that there is a way to essentially reformat your template to do just that, and there’s even an entire section directing how. Be that as is may, I can’t seem to even follow the directions because I can’t locate parts of them, The directions state:

[i]Working with chapters instead of scenes: By default, this project is set up so that you write each scene as a separate text document. If you don’t like to break things up quite that much and would prefer to write an entire chapter in each text document, make the following changes:

1. Rename the “Scene” document to use your chapter title and move it so that it is on the same level as the “Chapter” folder rather than being inside it.
  2. Move the “Chapter” folder to the Trash.
  3. Create a new text document for each chapter.
  4. In the “Separators” pane of the Compile dialog, change the “Text separator” setting to “Page break”.
  5. If your scene separators are centred (for instance if you are using “#” as the scene separator) and you want them to appear centred in the compiled document, too, select them and choose Format > Formatting > Preserve Formatting.[/i]