Wow, just wow.

I’m probably preaching to the choir here, but I thought I’d mention how unbelievably awesome I think Scrivener is.

Here’s how this week has gone for me.

Monday I decided I’d always fancied writing some fiction (hey, hasn’t everybody got one novel in them?). I thought a good way to motivate myself would be to look around for some short story competitions to enter.

Late Monday I found that there’s a big comp I wanted to enter but the closing date is Friday and the formatting rules are kind of weird (to me, remember I’ve never done this before). I figured it would take me a day to reformat anything I wrote to their precise format in Word or something. No worries, there’s always next year.

Tuesday I mention it to my wife and she says “why don’t you just crack on and enter?” and of course, she’s always right. Why wait? I don’t expect to get anywhere but the discipline of submission is what it’s all about. Hmm, one day to write, one to proof, one to reformat, one to submit - tight. Actually ridiculous.

But I’ve always believed that maxim “if I had a day to cut down a tree, I’d spend the morning sharpening the saw”. Wonder if there’s any s/w I can use that would be better than Word? That afternoon I d/l Scrivener. Half way through the tutorial I was dancing round the room “you mean I can just press a button and it will reformat it any way I like???”

Wednesday - write all day. [Harder than I thought actually - respect to you guys]. Every time I hit a problem I just swapped to the corkboard and picked another section to write. Every time I forgot a character’s name etc I just split screen and jumped into the Character folder. Half way through the afternoon I looked at the 3 screens I have on my iMac. Maps and pictures of location on the left, character sheets and stuff on the right and Scrivener right in the middle. Plus iTunes on high, obvs.

Thursday - read, proof, rewrite, polish, rave about Scrivener on the forum.