zoom changes formatting

Hello! I am new to Scrivener and am using it to complete my dissertation writing. I imported a lot of my files since my dissertation is half way done… a lot of the formatting changed, which has been frustrating but I am fixing it as I go along. I have my preferences set to APA style regulations. My biggest frustration is that once I get the formatting right, if I change the zoom, it changes the formatting in my view!!! I am I missing something? How can I keep this from happening? Normally when you zoom in Word or Pages or a PDF, the formatting doesn’t change… I have tried both going to View and zooming In or Out, and changing the percentages on the lower left of the document.

Thanks for your help!

Scrivener is not a desktop publishing software. It doesn’t have wysiwyg. Formatting in terms of margins, page breaks, etc that you have in Word or Pages are not introduced in Scrivener until you Compile for output. You can set up the editor, the writing environment, in any way you like to facilitate your writing, irrespective of what the final output is meant to be.

Thanks for getting back to me! So if I have an indented quote in my essay will it translate correctly to the final compiled document even if it looks messed up on the screen? It’s weird to me that it changes when I zoom in and out, and as a result I don’t know how it will actually look. I guess I will have to test this to see how it works…

A somewhat simplified answer is “no, it won’t”. Unless you take measures to make sure that the compile treats that snippet of text correctly.
The Compile function has lots of smart options so read the manual.

ok, thanks. I guess that’s what I will do…