A Binder-From-Outline-Doc Feature

Heya Keith, everyone.

I had an idea for a possible future feature in Scrivener today. It might be one of those ideas that only me and like, three other people in the world would ever use (and thus maybe not worth the time to implement), but it’s something to think about, anyway. Now, disclaimer: I am still new to Scrivener, and I’ll probably look foolish if it already has something like this and I just don’t know it yet. But with that out of the way, here goes:

Why not have a “Binder From External Outline” feature that takes a .doc or .rtf file containing a typical Harvard/Legal-style outline (or perhaps just a bulleted list), such as the following…

I. Top Level heading
---->A. Item
-------->1. Sub-Item

…Or something similar, and then lets you select which levels, items, etc. you want to be your folders, documents, etc., and then uses that information to create/delete/rearrange the folders and documents in your Binder? (Perhaps it could use styles or special formatting to determine which lines of text were, in fact, headings.) Reason being, I currently have a Word document containing a very dense, complex, and multileveled outline that spans over 250 pages of text, and I wanted a quick and easy way to import the document into Scrivener whilst using the overall structure of the outline to organize my Binder. The actual job of writing functions to parse the list/outline correctly would probably be the worst of this – then again, that’s only from a layman’s perspective – but it might be worth doing for those of us working with complex outlines . . . provided, of course, that I’m not the only person who would want this, which I might very well be.

All the best,
A.H.

Hi,