A frustrated newbie here ...

Hello all:

Earlier tonight I got really infuriated with the new version of MS Word for Mac. (I was forced to upgrade from Word for Mac 2011, which I absolutely loved, when I had to buy a new Mac.) Word kept crapping out on me (it is not iCloud-friendly, for one thing; it’s trying to force me to use their OneDrive, which I really don’t want to do, and I don’t want to save files on my hard drive), so I decided to look elsewhere for a better word processing program. I write primarily fiction and poetry; I’ve written plays in the past, but I’m not looking to do that right now.

So far Scrivener looks intriguing, but it’s not a straightforward program at all. In fact, I’m almost ready to hate it. Please convince me to love it because it seems way unnecessarily overcomplicated to do the straightforward things I used to do in Word.

1. When I start a new file, I want to be brought into Page Layout automatically. How do I set it up like that?

2. When I open a blank document (no, I don’t want to be forced to choose a fiction template in order to write a poem or short story), it looks like I have to keep changing its settings. Right now it’s defaulting to Palatino at 13 point size. Is there any way to make it so that whenever I start a new file, I can start at some other font at 12 point?!? It’s driving me nuts.

3. MS Word had this little feature where, when you look at the screen, there was a soft line showing the margins on all four sides of the sheet). I don’t see this option in Scrivener. As a poet, it’s important to see how much space I have to work with any given line.

4. Can’t I have the template show invisibles automatically without my having to search for the feature and turn it on?

5. The terminology around tabs is confusing. Why is it so hard to set it up? And why isn’t tabs under “Format”?!?

6. In Format > Style > Set Default Formatting … very frustrating. No option to set the default font nor size. Nothing.