A Writer’s Lament: The Better You Write, the More You Will Fail - NY Times

A poignant article of writing and writers …

A Writer’s Lament: The Better You Write, the More You Will Fail

1 Like

I’m not familiar with the Times pay wall … I have a subscription, so it is not an issue. One thought is that the Times does allow for non-subscribers to read articles one can read, but somehow they limit the number of articles, perhaps from a particular IP address … I don’t know … not trying to sell subscriptions, just thought others might relate to what the writer, Stephen Marche, had to say, particularly as a non-writer-trying-to fake-it-as-a-writer!

I’ll peek around a bit to see if there is a way to enable the Times allowance for reading articles using a few different VPN IP’s … but that’s the limit of what my little brain can come up with at the moment …

Apologies …
scrive
:thinking:

Don’t
. . . . . . . . . . . . .

1 Like

This ususually works: How Failure Defines the Writing Life - The New York Times

3 Likes

Don’t worry about it.

1 Like

I often forget about the Archive.org … thank you for the reminder … I’ll keep that one for future reference … better than any workaround I could have come up with …

scrive

1 Like

For what it is worth, I was particularly taken by the 4th and 5th paragraphs … e.g. “… we’re living in an aftermath.”, and “The boomers’ writing lives were exceptions.”

… the times they are a changing!

Fortunately, we have tools that our fore-writers could only have imagined!

scrive,

I’m not sure if I can make the connection. If we have the better tools, why are the good old times over?

1 Like

Good point …

The “good old times over” is Stephen Marche’s sentiment. But as someone trying to write as a complete new-comer (and little to no knowledge of the history) to the craft, I thought it was an interesting viewpoint of how the craft as changed over time.