Access research data for many writing projects

Hi Folks,

i am new to Scrivener. I was searching the forum and other online resources but haven’t found an answer to the following question.

Is there a way to build up a research database of e.g. pdf articles and websites that can be used in any draft?
To be more vividly. I found a scientific article on the internet. Within the article there are two statements (A and B). I know that I will use statement A in the first article. About B I am not sure jet. Is there a way to mark this statement B in some way that when I am writing the second article in a year from now and I vaguely remember that I sometime has read somewhere about statement B, that I can open a search and find that statement B in the article stored in the research folder of the old first article?

Or do I have to have a research database (a spreadsheet in the simplest form) outside of Scrivener? :question:

Cheers, Karsten

I suppose you could mark up the PDF (Shift-Cmd-H on selected text will highlight it), but that’s not Scrivener’s forte, it only has rudimentary access to PDF editing and viewing. It may be a matter of taste, but I myself prefer to put these kinds of things into individual files in a common place, well, commonplacing in fact. :slight_smile: For that I think Scrivener is ideal because each snippet of text you add to the project Binder can be tagged, organised into folders and collections, annotated upon with notes, described with a synopsis—etc. You might not need all of that—but even just one of those things is going to be better than a yellow highlight in a PDF in my opinion.