Advice on script writing layout please

I’m endeavouring to adapt my novel into a film script. I’m a complete novice to script writing, so I’d appreciate some advice on the following points:

1. To get an idea on how long the script is going to be, I want to write it in the actual format I would send the script. That is, with margins and page numbers. I realize each scene is a file in Scrivener, so is it out of the question/defeating the point of Scrivener to write a continuous document before compiling? If so, I guess it means writing up a number of scenes then compiling and estimating the length from the result? Or am I missing something obvious?

2. In the example script you supply in the Research folder, the width of the text seems narrower than most other examples I’ve come across. I wonder why this is?

3. I searched for Scriverner tutorials on script writing but didn’t find much. Just want to make sure I didn’t miss something.

Thanks very much.

Hi Kawasaki

1. That’s pretty much what you’ll have to do. Basically one scene per document if you want, but there’s nothing to stop you putting a sequence of them together if it makes more sense. You don’t have to compile to get a page count, just select page layout view, and then select all the scene documents. Scriv will show them in continuous pages with a page count in the bottom of the editor.

2. Layout - I know what you mean… the Scriv margins look wider but they don’t seem to be in when you print. That said, the Scriv layout does come out some pages longer than the same script in Final Draft or Movie Magic, which is down to headers/footers and line height, which are reliant on the OS X text engine.

The bottom line is that Scriv’s for developing a text, not laying it out. You’ll need to put your script through FD, MMS, or at the very least a full on WP to sort out the niceties of formatting.