Another writer

I’m a professional writer, and before that a journalist (writing for the Sunday Times in the UK on technology - would happily have plugged Scrivener if it had been around then).

My next book out in the US is The Seventh Sacrament from Bantam Dell, the fifth in a crime series set in Rome. It was started in Mellel and finished in Word. The one after that (out January in the UK from Macmillan) was written in Pages. The one after that (which will be out in the UK and US in 2009) is being completed in Scrivener after being started in Word.

I particularly like the way Scrivener can be used to handle multiple viewpoint narratives - much better than anything else - and the ease with which you can focus on chapter and scenes, without feeling they’re somehow detached from the rest of the script, which is what happened for me in something like Ulysses.

Anyway - congratulations on a ground-breaking and genuinely innovative product out there. I’ve tried everything there is just about and for me this is undoubtedly the best.

David Hewson
davidhewson.com

Ha! I wondered what had happened to you David. I used to make a bee-line to your contributions in the Sunday Times. The technology pages haven’t been quite the same since you moved on.

Enough buttering-up! :wink: What do you make of NoteMind (http://www.synium.de/notemind/index.html) from more extended use? (I read the “early-days” review in your blog.) On price alone, if nothing else, it looks attractive as a writer’s datastore.

P.S. Good luck with the launch of The Seventh Sacrament in the US.

Notemind was great for the latest project which is just coming to a close. But that did involve a phenomenal amount of stored research material. Every book is different for me. I’m not sure whether the next will have so much data. I suspect a lot of material could be simply contained in folders in Scrivener. Will have to see how things go.