Are sections of created ebooks encrypted?

Hello everyone,

A few weeks ago I bought Scrivener, so I am a complete newbie with this exciting writing software.

However I want to know if when compiling an ebook (epub, …) sections of that compiled ebook are encrypted.

It is my intention after the book is compiled to lets say an “epub” format, I can fine tune the generated CSS/HTML code. I create question pages for our 8 year old daughter. After creating I like to add or alter images. Until a few weeks ago I did this with another application but the questions section is always encrypted, so it is impossible to change.

Despite the fact I can understand the property reason behind encrypting those question sections, it also limits the usage. That application does not allow images to be used properly. If they would not had encrypted it, I could have alter the question section, so they would look how I want it.

I like to add that I do not use any encryption or protection method to my created ebooks. I want to give the reader an optimal readers experience. I find Scrivener an excellent and powerfull writing tool, which is challenging to master.

Can you tell me if a Scrivener published ebook contains encrypted sections and if I can edit every section of the formatted and created ebook?

Thank you very much of your time and efforts spend on answering my question, which will be highly appreciated.

Have a nice day.

Chris

Have you managed to compile to epub with anything encrypted? I was not aware that Scrivener offered DRM protection for epub files. So, either someone will correct me or you are asking how can you stop it from completely doing what it doesn’t do at all.