Camp NaNoWriMo: July 2022

Wondering if there are like-minded souls here wanting to take on Camp NaNo this July? I’ve created my project. It has to do with the theoretical research I’ve been doing and how it somehow intersected with real life. Memoir.

Let me know what you intend to work on, too. Unlike November’s NaNo proper, in CampNaNo you can set a target word count other than 50k. April 2022 I did 20k.

Yes, I’ll likely be doing NaNo this July. I’ll be sitting down to a blank project and spitting out whatever words come to mind. 50,000 of them, if I’m lucky. I won’t necessarily produce a coherent narrative, but I’m hoping for a new character or three, and perhaps even a new universe to research.

1 Like

Cool! Speaking of a new universe to research, I had been musing since ~2018 "what if I wrote a novel inspired by Charles Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities — a tale of three cities? About some story spanning the three financial hubs London, New York and Hong Kong. The funny thing is, I could write about London and Hong Kong but only this year did I have an inkling about how New York factors into the story, which was nothing like I imagined.

I’m writing this post just to bump it up and see if there’s still anyone interested in Camp NaNo July 2022.

Summary

I’m going to finish up my WIP in April 2022 and, if I have days to spare, move on to finishing up Books 1 & 2 of my memoir trilogy (no material for Book 3 yet!) as well as begin Part 1 of the “tale of three cities” I mentioned. So many financial leads these days.

Can’t wait for Camp to begin. I’m not a good pantser so am furiously (re-)scribbling what I intend to write come July.

Summary