Can I get total words written, not just net words written?

I do lots of rewriting. Scrivener only keeps net words written - new words minus deleted words - in history. I’d like to have total words written, regardless of how many words are deleted. Seems like this is an easy add since the program keeps track of both, but only displays net, not gross.

Is there an easy workaround? Or is this a feature request?

Hi.

It is not that simple. As it has been asked for many times before, should it be that easy to program, it’d be already implemented. (Note that this is my understanding, as a user. I am no developer of the software.)

Scrivener / writing history, doesn’t actually keep track of deleted words.
It only compares the total from one day to the next.
If the total words difference is a minus, then it looks like it tracked deleted words, but it didn’t.

. . . . . . . . .

One thing you could do is use strike-out rather than delete.
Once done working on your text (and happy you got a number that reflects your newly written words), there is a function to remove strike-out text from your documents.

Otherwise, as an advice I would say trust your feeling. You should know if you’ve done what you had to do or not. Whether you have given your best or not shouldn’t be decided by a number – you should know, plain simple.

Again, that is just my take on the matter. But ever since I stopped caring for the word count, not only do I write just as much or more, but I am in a better state of mind vis-à-vis the task at hand.
(I write fiction novels, for the difference it could make.)

While I get where you’re coming from, I’d still like to have total words written, regardless of how many words are deleted. I’ve been writing professionally for 20 years, and using Scrivener for the last eight years, so please trust this is a considered request from an experienced writer and user.