Character Development and Analysis

Hello!

I am relatively new to Scrivener and have really enjoyed using the software. It has certainly helped with plot development and overall manuscript organization. I am curious as to how others are using the software with regard to character development and analysis. Currently I am using keywords for my characters and running searches/edit scrivenings. It is working okay but I wanted to solicit ideas from more experienced users as to what has worked and not worked for them.

Thanks for any and all responses!

Regards,

P.R.

I have a folder (Characters) and inside that folder is a document for each character. As a character develops I use a split pane (having the character document at the top and the current writing at the bottom) That way I can make notes on a character as scenes progress. I can also go back (scroll up) and see how the character is developing)

If that makes any sense?

Interesting (and makes sense)…

Sounds like it will work a little better than keywords (or in conjuction with them). I might try a combo approach on my next story.

Thanks for the suggestion, Wock!

P.R.

I use a combination of annotations and keywords for this (and many other things). Annotations are extremely useful for tracking ongoing elements that appear throughout the story, because they are contextual.