Conversion Windows texts into Mac texts

Greetings all:
I’ve been using Scrivener since 2014 and have created many short stories and a few novels (still incomplete) in the Windows version (Currently 3.1.5.1).
Now, I’m considering the purchase of a MacBook. Of course, I’m happy to pay for the Mac Version of Scrivener and Scapple, but my question is can I import and/or convert those works-in-progress from the Windows file-types into the MacBook file-types successfully? OR … Would I have to convert my Windows files into MS Word (docx) files and THEN import into MacBook Scrivener? Perhaps there is a better way? Or … no way at all?
Thanks in advance.

Hi JimC49, and welcome to the forum.

You won’t need to take a lot of steps to transfer your work from a PC to a Mac. One of our goals with recent updates on both platforms is improved cross-platform compatibility.

We have this Knowledge Base article with tips on working across platforms. You might find reviewing those tips a good starting point.

And, if you’re considering using a cloud-storage service like Dropbox to either share the work or migrate it to the Mac, these cloud-storage recommendations could also help.

Thank-you, very much, RuthS.
After reading the Cross Platforms link that you provided, I surely am relieved down to my soul.
I keep my Scrivener work on an external drive, so I plan to plug-in the Windows creations drive to the MacBook, open the appropriate files in the Mac Version of Scrivener (one by one), then save them to the new machine. Once this is done, I doubt if I will want to go back-forth between the two and use the MacBook as a single purpose machine going forward. Of course, when inspiration strikes, I have whatever machine I have open at the time, to record my thoughts.
Thank-you for bearing the good news.