Crashing on launch after syncing for a few days

I can also report that the app crashed on launch the first time I updated to it. I then deleted and reinstalled the app, relinked to Dropbox and got some days out of it. Just now it started doing it again, causing me to have to totally reinstall it again.

Do you receive crash logs for your app? I hope it doesn’t just keep breaking like this repeatedly, or that you can discover the issue. To clarify, I’m using latest iOS 17 and are linked to a project in a custom Dropbox sync folder.

So a good first troubleshooting step involving crashes, if you are a Dropbox user, is to clear the Dropbox cache. If that doesn’t work, I’d also try turning off Dropbox for a spell and seeing if it goes away, managing transfers like a non-Dropbox user would.

I’ve already reinstalled the app twice and synced fresh from Dropbox. It’s the new version that is crashing upon first launch of the app (barely appears then poof, gone). As a software developer myself, if I release a new version of my software and it starts crashing for users where the old version never did, that’s on me to fix.

If of any help, I’m not seeing any crashing of Scrivener iOS on either iPhone or iPad

iOS Version 17.0.2 with 181 gb of 256 gb used on device (iPhone).
Scrivener Version 1.2.4
Dropbox Version 348.3.2 with 38% of account (2 TB) used

Just now Apple invited me to update iOS to 17.0.3. Perhaps this Apple upgrade fixes some people’s issues? Dunno. I’ll upgrade later today.

Yeah, it’s pretty clear this isn’t a widespread problem. I can’t even imagine how overrun the forum would be if everyone devolved into a crash-on-launch that uses Dropbox, after a few days.

I don’t quite understand the push-back against running the diagnostic steps suggested though. Hopefully someone else experiencing these symptoms can provide a little more information in the future.

1 Like