Define "Beginner"

Thank you from a Total Newbie, for the Coffee Invite during this Artic Hurricane.

I come seeking guidance to using Scrivener for the first time. Alas, I am an “Analog Girl in a Digital World.” (Thanks to balladeer Guy Clark.)

Every post found so far, every well-intended video link, thinks I already know what they are talking about. I do not have a clue. I can’t get out of the Tutorial, much less have both the Tutorial and my own work going side by side. I know it can be done, but I just don’t get it.

Just let me type in my index cards and move them around the corkboard. Let me data-entry all my hand-scribbled loose-leaf papers, and pages mixed-up in spiral bound notebooks and countless comp books into the program documents, and let me have at 'em!

And for the Sake of Sweet Old Betsy, please let me increase the font size in every window field so I can read this thing!

Whew, I feel so much better now. Truly, Coffee is Better Living Through Chemistry!

I hope to stick it out long enough to get the hang of it, cause I have some Good Reading for the local Library Readers Book Club if I can ever get it down on paper - organized, that is!

Thank you,
Eden Grey

I see scriv kind of like my wife. A complete PITA to live without so you do what you have too do to make it work.

Some hints:

• File Open to open another project. Or find it on disk and double click. I have three open now so I could give that advice.
  • just click the X in the upper corner to close a project. You will need to use the above methods to reopen it.
  • There is another thread about the font size (was that you?) where KB (creationists would call him the creator of scrivener, evolutionists … Hmm… they would too, so this joke just died on the vine) gave direction to how to do that.

the rest of the stuff… not enough coffee yet for me to answer. It’s one of those days. Sorry.