Dialogue Tags

I’m an old 71-year-old new writer trying to fulfil a dream of writing a fiction novel, for no other reason than self satisfaction to see if I can do it.

I’ve been learning everything about the art and process from the ground up, as the only thing I’ve ever written in my life are emails and business memoranda.

I have 6 chapters of possibly 24 done, and I want to make sure I have my dialogue tags correct. I’ve read many sites and watched a lot of YouTube videos on how to use them, but there are some complex sentences that I’m not sure if I have the syntax correct. I know I have the simpler basic one’s right.

I’m trying to find a site or some place where I could validate how I’ve used the more challenging ones.

Does anyone know of such a site, or other resource that would be helpful?

Thanks for any feedback.

Regards,
Doug

I’m afraid I don’t, but then I’m not sure what you mean by complicated dialogue tags.

Is it the placement of them mid-paragraph, or are you having trouble with too many non-“said” tags? Or are you using “dialogue tags” to mean something different from the “he/she/[proper name] said” variety?

Thanks for the reply.

Using your example.

He blushed. “It’s just a metaphorical ejaculation, not for real. But I can see how you might be confused if we were just text on a page, instead of real-life, flesh-and-blood human beings just talking.”

Why isn’t there a comma after blushed?

He blushed, “It’s just a metaphorical ejaculation, not for real. But I can see how you might be confused if we were just text on a page, instead of real-life, flesh-and-blood human beings just talking.”

Is it because that comma rule only applies using the word “said”?

You can only use the “comma rule” after any verb with the sense of “talk” in it, as what follows is grammatically the (perhaps extended!) predicate of that verb and therefore a structural part of the same sentence.