Document with continuous paragraph numbering in Scrivener

Hi all,

Complete newbie here, so please, please forgive me if this is an utterly stupid question, but I was hoping for some guidance to help me decide whether to buy this fantastic looking app.

I’ve just downloaded the trial and I absolutely love the look and feel of the app. However, I’m a little overwhelmed and I am struggling to discover whether Scrivener can do what I need it to. I’ve done loads of searching online, and I can’t find an answer to my query. I’m hoping someone might be able to help me, or point me in the right direction.

For work, I have to generate long report-style documents (I say long, between 100-200 pages of A4, some many not consider that long). I love the idea of using Scrivener to shuffle the structure and plan the outline. I’m currently using word processors, and I find it is difficult to keep track of what is where.

However, I need to employ a very specific structure in my documents:

1. I need to use headings, but no more than two levels (heading and subheading).
  2. I need to ensure that every paragraph in the document is numbered, also with the ability to break those paragraphs down into subparagraphs.
  3. The headings are not numbered.

I will try and give you an impression below:

Heading level one

1. This would be a paragraph in the document.

2. This would be a further paragraph, which then has a subparagraph:
    a. Sub-para one.
    b. Sub-para two:
    i. Level three para.
    ii. Level three para.
    c. And so on…

Question

Is it possible for me to achieve this using the compile feature? I would really like to avoid have to go through and edit the formatting of the document in a word processor when I have finished.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Yes. It is possible.

For that, you’ll have to use styles across pretty much your whole project.
A style for your paragraphs, and another one for the sub-paragraphs.