Editing Everything

I was listening to an interview with the writer Ayelet Waldman, who made an interesting comment about editing. When asked if she and her husband – the intimidatingly great Michael Chabon – edit each other’s work, she said that they edit each other’s everything, even emails. She said that very little writing leaves the house that wasn’t looked over.

I tend to agree with this practice. I edit just about everything over a couple of sentences. Part of this is professional habit/paranoia – hard to ask someone to pay for my writing with an unsharp email – but I also do it because words are important. I’ve already read these words over twice, and I’ll read it again after I hit submit. Mania!

Wondering how many of you share the compulsive need to edit.

Well, my day job is editing, and I’d rate my compulsive need to edit my own writing somewhere just shy of Rainman-raccoon hand-washing. As a writer this slows me down considerably, compared with the output some on this forum talk about, but then when I’m finally done with something it usually needs little more than somewhere between a heavy-duty proofreading and a light-touch copyedit–someone else’s eyes to catch those infelicities we all make but can’t see, because we made them.

Of course, how much time I spend editing a piece of writing is directly related to how much I’m going to be paid for it. You get that way, when sitting at the keyboard is your only visible means of support.

Emails, and postings to a forum, get a quick twice-over, and then off they go. A 1500-word magazine column might be edited 20 or 30 times before I’m done enough to let it settle, unrevisited, for a week or two or as long as I can spare, and then spit-shined once or twice more before haring off to the publisher.