Feature Request: Scriptwriting Word Count to exclude non-dialogue words

Apologies if this feature request is already mentioned; I searched but could not find it. I use Scriv almost exclusively for plays. I would love a feature, where in Scriptwriting mode, I can set word count to display ONLY dialogue. That is for Scriv to use Scriptwriting prompts (Scene Action, Character, Dialogue) to filter ONLY for dialogue. I then, convert dialogue word count to ‘words spoken per minute’ to give me a scene length (time on stage). As per my silly sample below, I can have 1000 words written but if there’s only two of dialogue, then I need to keep writing. If there is a way for me to do this, please let me know, and if not, I mean, I’m not a coder, but how hard could it be, right? :mrgreen:

[quote=“AstonishingGoddess”]
I’m not a coder, but how hard could it be, right? /quote]

I believe that’s on page one of the book “1001 phrases guaranteed to get software developers to hate you.”

On a more serious note, have you tried making a Collection that only shows dialogue, and then count those words?

Thanks PopcornFlix for your suggestion. I took a look at Collections, (not having used them before) and couldn’t work out how I might do that, but appreciate the thought.

There’s also this idea which is closely related:

word count by dialogue character

Getting what you want looks like it is just one step removed from this idea (requiring a simple summing at the end).

Thanks for this. Did you share the (apple) script somewhere? I’m keen to try it.

Been awhile since I used that, so let me test to make sure it still works. Also, I will add to it the summing function you need. Will get back here soon with that. And, yeah, it is applescript, so (for your safety) you can easily examine the code.