Feedback on Manual for Windows 3.0.1

I have a suggestion for the manual. First I want to acknowledge that it’s extremely well organized, well written, and comprehensive. A huge amount of work obviously went into it, and I’m very appreciative of that.

I’m really missing the comprehensive TOC that the old manual had up front. I’ve been using Scrivener for many years, and the manual is a reference for me when I want to do something I haven’t done before, or can’t remember how I did it. Often the fastest way for me to find what I’m looking for is to scan through the TOC, find one or a few places where it might be found, and click through to those. I used the comprehensive TOC regularly in the old manual. I’m finding the dispersed TOC in the 3.0 manual is taking far more time to find things. I realize I can also do a search on terms, but that often turns up way too many references, and I often don’t know what the specific term would be, it’s more a functionality that I can find quickly by browsing a comprehensive TOC.

Thanks for listening, and thanks for a terrific product!

1 Like

Yes, completely agree!

Yes, completely agree! The current manual is a marvel after I’ve managed to find what I’m looking for, but that usually requires hitting Find a dozen or so times–and that’s if I’ve used the correct search term, which I probably haven’t.

The dispersed TOC would theoretically be useful once I know what section I’m looking for, but in practice the only way to determine the section is to first do those dozen Finds, and if I do manage to locate the spot I need, then I’m already in the details–so what’s the practical value of the dispersed TOC? @AmberV, I’m wondering what’s the use case here?