Final Draft Dialogue Features

Dear Keith,

I work as a screenwriter/director and have recently been introduced to Scrivener for Windows, which I found extremely helpful for so many reasons.

I have been working on Final Draft for years and I’m very much used to its formatting system. However it has no decent outlining/organization features. The binder & outlining system in Scrivener is just amazing, so the only things that keep me working in Final Draft are mainly the dialogue features:

1. In a conversation between 2 characters, every time I press enter, FD automatically guesses the name of the interlocutor without having to type the beginning. That saves a huge amount of time and makes writing dialogue very organic. That is the one feature I would die to see in Scrivener since it’s really the main reason why I still work in FD.

2. When I add a character name somewhere inside my text on the middle of the page/or at the very bottom, the page shifts/scroll abruptly and I must scroll down again to find out where I was. Also in normal mode (non full screen) my writing is always very close to the bottom of the screen while I would like to keep lots of white space under my text as I write.

3. Finally, the biggest issue right now is the inability to import fdx files. It seems like there’s no other way to import an fdx screenplay with Scrivener recognizing the formatting? So at the moment I can’t transfer my 107 pages medieval script into Scrivener which basically means I have to keep working in Final draft. :cry:

Many thanks in advance for your reply/comments and for creating Scrivener - I already use it on a regular basis for structuring text documents and I can’t wait to be doing the same for film scripts.

Best Regards,
Jeremy

Hi Jeremy,

Great to hear that you’re finding Scrivener useful!