First Time Scrivener User

I have been using WriteWay Pro for the past four years. Never needed to consult the user manual. Totally intuitive product, unlike Scrivener. I have had Scrivener for three years. Every time I think I will learn to use it, it is so overwhelming that I go back to WriteWay Pro. I have the following books on Scrivener:

• Scrivener for Dummies
  • Scrivener for Writers
  • Writing a Novel with Scrivener
  • Scrivener Essentials
    None of these books does a thing for me. All I want to do is Fire up Scrivener, and use one of the many free templates I have found for Scrivener. I can’t even figure how to get Scrivener to open the templates. Any and all help will be gratefully appreciated.

Launch Scrivener, use the template chooser to create a new project from the Blank template, and start typing.

If you want to import someone else’s templates, you’ll need to look in the manual to see where to put them. But once you’ve done that, they should just appear in the template chooser window.

Personally, I would recommend looking over at least the Quick Start portion of the Tutorial project. Part of why Scrivener is less intuitive is because it handles things a little differently from most word processors.

Katherine

The only way to learn how to use Scrivener is to use it, with the help of some advice from others. I read two introductory e-books on Scrivener while I started to use it, and started using it for smaller writing projects before starting larger, book-level projects.

• Take control of Scrivener 2

• Your guide to Scrivener, the ultimate tool for writers

You don’t have to master all aspects of Scrivener to find it useful, just start using the things you need.