Fish, animals, and US law

Offtopic: I find it striking that US laws distinguish between “animals”, “birds”, “fish” and “plants”, as if birds or fish were not animals. All countries classify animals in arbitrary ways according to their social utility: companion, work, laboratory, etc., and they establish the crimes according to the utilitarian value or the sentimental bond towards a human being, which determines the seriousness of the material or moral damages caused.

These classifications are as arbitrary and unfair as those that were once made about black humans or women depending on whether they were married or not.

There are already experts in the field of Animal Rights who pronounce themselves on it: https://www.univ-tln.fr/IMG/pdf/the_toulon_declaration_english_version_.pdf

Regards.

There are 50 states, each with its own laws; 4 non-state territories; a Military Code and a federal code. That makes it awfully hard to generalize.

2 Likes

I am not an expert in US law, nor do I pretend to be. I have not generalized. I have only pointed out one piece of evidence: 1) Animals are arbitrarily classified. 2) Animals have no legal rights and, therefore, they are listed as property.

Regards.

Arbitrarily classified? Psittacines are covered by treaty and defined there. Not satisfied with the CITES definition? Other than at Customs and Border Protection, you won’t find much on the topic in Alaskan law. VI and Puerto Rican legislation undoubtedly address them.

You say you haven’t generalized, but you have: "US laws distinguish between (sic) “animals, birds, fish and plants.” So does science:

But there’s no need to hijack my thread.

2 Likes