Full screen view of PDFs imported in Research

I’m a scientist and just started using the program. Maybe someone has wished for this already?

I import a number of PDF files from research articles into the Research section where it is very convenient to consult them while working on a manuscript. I just drag them over from Papers, a program I use to organize my PDFs. But it’s hard to read these–a full screen view, as you get in Papers and you get for the text documents in Scrivener, would be great. I also foresee myself bringing over graphs, figures and micrographs as PDFs where this feature would be helpful.

Hi STL,

I’m afraid there are no plans for this - the full screen mode is intended as a composition mode rather than a reading mode. What makes it hard to read the PDF files? You can zoom in and zoom out, hide the inspector and so forth. Scrivener allows you to import media files such as PDF files so that you can refer to them whilst writing in a split-screen view.

Best,
Keith

Yes, it shouldn’t matter because you can resize but it does. For the same reason that the full screen of the text is useful (you can also resize the text the tedious way)–the full screen controls are just much easier with a continuous scroll through the sizes. (It’s often hard to predict whether 150% vs. 300% is going to be what you want. ) And you can see more of the article at one time and flash it on and off easily. Many of the old articles are scanned PDFs and hard to read. Sometimes you have to zoom in just to read fine text and then need to zoom out to see a figure that takes up half the page. In fact, for this reason I think the full screen view is much more important for PDF viewing than text viewing. The pictures vs. text zoom factor issue is likely to be true for lots of PDFs.