Having trouble understanding compile formatting

I love Scrivener. I have been far more productive and organized it since switching over. But, now that I’m ready to produce a project for review, I’m completely lost trying to understand how to define a proper format. By default everything is double-spaced. I’ve tried to understand how to control formatting. I’ve searched through help and menus - but I’m just lost. It’s a great tool but very complicated. I’m still learning as I go along. But compile has me stumped. Any help greatly appreciated.

On the left side of the compile panel are the compile formats currently available as per your chosen output (epub, PDF etc - top-middle of the panel).
Double click the one you are thinking of using. (Duplicate it if prompted to do so.)
In there you’ll find the text formatting for your compiled draft.

A basic introduction to the Compile command can be found in the Interactive Tutorial, available from the Help menu.

There are also several video tutorials, here:
https://www.literatureandlatte.com/learn-and-support/video-tutorials

Exhaustive detail can be found in Chapters 23 and 24 of the manual, also available from the Help menu.

Here are two complete workflows for the process, creating two entirely different export products from the same content. And more.

chapter headings, page breaks, and all that

compiling a synopsis/epigraph report

headers and footers

compile overview

zoom me