Help needed - Tab indents messed up when 'Compiling' a manuscript

Hi all, new member here. I’ve been using Scrivener for several years, and am now only in position to print out a draft of a completed novel manuscript. However, I’m having formatting issues when I ‘compile’ my manuscript, namely with tab indents.

When I ‘compile’ my manuscript (say into Courier or Times), it standardises all the font and line spacing, which is great. However, my tab indents all over the place. Some are single idents, some are doubles, and some are halfway across the page. Is there a simple way of standardising that without having to go through the entire Word doc and manually correct them? I’ve literally spent about 2 hours doing that. I tried standardising it on Word, but that changed all the font and spacing.

And is there a way of standardising them on the original Scrivener file before ‘compiling’ as well, so that the indents, font, line spacing etc are consistent throughout the file already, rather than having to set them for each individual chapter? I’ve had a quick look through the manuals and forums, but was getting a bit lost.

I’m also wondering whether the issue is because some of my chapters in Scrivener were copied over from Word originally, so they all have MS Word coding weirdness in the back-end of the text.

Any help, advice or links to answers would be duly appreciated!

Thanks
Stephen

Simple answer, go to Edit > Text Tidying > Strip Leading Tabs.

What you’ve got is some paragraphs with leading tabs and some without, and the ruler setting in Compile is applying first-line indents.

:slight_smile:

Mark

1 Like

And for future reference, it may be good to realize that typeset text in general does not use tab characters for first-line indents at all. Using tabs also makes what Compile can do for you less flexible. For these reasons I recommend you lose the tab habit.