help with exporting footnotes

I’m new to Scrivener and up till now have been using Word 2011. I find Scrivener useful for the creative aspect of writing my dissertation, but for formatting reasons (which are very strict at our uni) I need to export the final document back into Word. However, no matter what I seem to try, my footnotes export as endnotes and Word can’t convert them back into footnotes. It’s taken me two hours to re-format two chapters, and I have six chapters to go and I’m on a tight deadline. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!! :slight_smile:

It should be perfectly possible to convert footnotes to endnotes and back in Word – I used to do it all the time, though in an earlier version. Have a look at this web page:

kb.iu.edu/data/ahko.html

Cheers, Martin.

Hi,

When going to Word, be sure to export using the RTF format - this will ensure that all footnotes are “real” footnotes. Our .docx exporter is the standard OS X one, the same one provided with TextEdit, and doesn’t support “real” footnotes (there should have been a warning message about this if that’s the format you chose). So, export to RTF, and then open the RTF document in Word.

Hope that helps.

All the best,
Keith

Hi,

Thanks for the replies.

Martin - The problem is that when I get everything into Word, the footnotes option under the View pane is greyed out. It won’t let me convert that way, otherwise that’s how I usually do it to. Since this has only been an issue since exporting from Scrivener, I assumed it was a Scrivener to Word problem and not just a Word problem.