Help with SUSE?

Can anyone provide instructions for non-geeks how to get Scrivener running on SUSE Linux?

Disclaimer: I’ve been a Linux admin for half a decade, and this crap really got in the way of my writing big-time. I absolutely enjoy being a regular user again, and I never figured that the need to put files I don’t have into a directory that doesn’t exist, or Linux complaining about some problem with a reptile named gecko would ever get between me and my writing again (yes, it’s a tad ironic - but to be honest, it’s also major torture).

Thanks! :laughing:

Install Debian? Or Redhat?

Sorry not helpful, but SUSE seems to make some things harder than they need to be sometimes.

I’m sure a more helpful person will be along soon.

You’re talking the WINE version or the native version?

WINE version is not that tricky: install current wine, install the packages you need via winetricks (it’s in a post around here (vcrun2008 and quartz, I believe), then install the executable.

for the linux native version, you need to unpack it, and then specify the Scrivener-specific libraries, instead of trying to run it against your system ones. For instance my shell alias looks like this:

alias scriv-linux='/lib/ld-linux.so.2 --library-path /lib:/usr/local/LiteratureAndLatte/lib /usr/local/LiteratureAndLatte/bin/Scrivener'

Yours is going to look different depending on where you unpack the folder, of course. Standard caveat that I’ve never used SUSE. (Slackware and Debian.)