Hiding cards on the corkboard

Hi! I’m new to Scrivener and I am loving the corkboard. I have just started plotting my novel with it. I am using different colour cards for different plot lines. ls there any way that I can hide all cards of a certain colour and show only red cards e.g.? Thanks in advance for your help!

If you make a collection of one type of card like one pov then select all files in that collection and switch to corkboard view

It’s not a permanent thing, but yes there is a filter for both the corkboard and outliner. Access it with regular old Ctrl+F / ⌘F, and flip the little arrow on the left to access additional options—such as removing all red cards, or showing only red cards, etc.

Once you set that up it will stick for the session, so you can easily toggle the filter on and off with the shortcut.

You might also be interested in the View ▸ Corkboard Options ▸ Arrange by Label view mode, also accessible in the corkboard footer bar with a button (it looks like two small cards on two lines). While that doesn’t filter, it aids in visualising the flow of whatever you are using colour coding for.

1 Like

Thanks! I will try that out!

Making a collection worked the best for me, thanks!

So, making a collection as suggested above didn’t work as well as I initially thought, so I think filtering per ⌘F would be best. Unfortunately I am not able to do that. I can’t find how to access the option to show only red cards or hide them, etc. :flushed: Could you walk me through it, please? Sorry for being such a digital klutz…

I’m on Windows, so you’ll have to convert my feedback below to Mac-speak. :nerd_face:

This feature is called Corkboard Filter (you can also use it with the Outliner) and is discussed in the Windows Scrivener manual section 11.4 Filter Outliner & Corkboard views.

It sounds like you’ve reached the point where you have the Corkboard displayed and the Filter launched, like so: