How do I clear formatting (use styles)?

I am a new user of Scrivener and spend the last two days learning more and more about the tool.

I am not the average computer user, in fact I was a a software developer, but I think that Scrivener could be used to write technical software documentation as well.

Still there is something I was not able to understand even after doing, a lot of, research on the net: how do I reset the formatting? (clear formatting).

Here is the use case: you copy some text from another place (like webpage or word document) and you paste it to Scrivener. My assumption would be that the application will recognize some of the formatting and replace it with one of the default styles (preset) and drop other. I tested both simple paste and past-and-match-style without success.

Also, I tried to select a section of text having a not desired formatting and tried to clear it to “defaults”, but this seams to be impossible or at least is very well hidden.

I am not sure if I was clear enough but I was to use only standar styles/preset so I can change the formatting for the entire document whenever I want. In fact I would like to “bad” the usage of custom font and font size if possible, and even remove it from the format bar. BTW, the “presets” option should be the first one, not the last one, to make it visible even when the application window is smaller.

How can I achieve this?

It sounds as though you are looking for Documents > Convert > Formatting to Default Text Style. This will reset all the formatting in a document to use the formatting you have set up in the preferences, while maintaining bold, italics and suchlike.

Thanks, this seams to solve most of my problem. I still see some paragraph with different line spacing that is not reset by this option.

It should be - did you make sure that all the “Convert Format Options” were unticked in the sheet that pops down before you converted?
All the best,
Keith