How do you keep track of sub-plots in a book?

Hi I’m new to scrivener (downloaded two days ago!) and so far I am loving it. There are so many features however, I’m having trouble working out how best to use them. In particular I’d love to know how other users keep track of sub-plots within a main novel. Is there a way I can tag bits of text as belonging to a particular sub-plot so I can then pull all those sections from the main novel?

Searching “subplots” in this forum brings up some preliminary ideas for you now.

For me, that’s the main function of Labels. Others use those for POV-characters, but I like to use Labels, because a scene is mostly only in one subplot. (Select Project > Project Settings > Label list to add or removeLabels).

This way, a colored dot in the Binder indicates the subplot a scene is in. (View > Use Label color in…) and determining the distribution of scenes over subplots becomes just looking at the colors in the Binder.

And to see each subplot on their own, seaching for the name of the Label (Click the looking glass above the Binder, select Label and Exact words), and saving the result in a Dynamic Collection (bottom option in the search options menu) will bring all scenes together in collections so reading the subplot in Binder order is easy. Adding or removing scenes from subplots will automagically update the Collection it is in.

Hope this helps

3 Likes

I use two tools from Scrivener. The first is keywords. You can assign as many ones as you want. So you can have keywords for all your main characters. With this you can track any subplot associated with a main character. You can also create keyword tags for a subplot, like a romance one. Give each scene with your subplot the keyword. If you then do a project search for the keyword then every scene that contains something about this subplot will be available to review.