How to make separate folders for back-up and sync in Dropbox?

Hello!

I have been using Scrivener on my Mac desktop for a few years. I set it up to make back-ups to Dropbox and I use Time Machine to back up my computer.

This summer I got an iPad and started using Dropbox to sync my projects. I started to have problems with the syncing and the backups, and, after reading around on this form and watching videos, I am realizing that this problem is probably because the projects and the backups are saving in the same folder.

I have read advice that I should move these to be in separate locations and I would like to ask: what’s the best way to do this?

Should I create a separate folder called “live Projects” in my dropbox app on my Mac and drag the project files into that? And do I then need to take steps on the iPad to ensure that it is now syncing to that folder?

Or should I create another folder for the backups and drag all the backups to the new “backups” folder? And then go to the backups setting pane in Scrivener and change the location of automatic backups?

And should that new backups folder be somewhere that is NOT on Dropbox?

thanks for your help!

Moving the backups is probably easier than reconfiguring sync, though neither is particularly difficult. If you do want to change the sync location, tap Edit on the iPad Projects screen, then the gear icon to get the Dropbox Settings option.

Yes, I would recommend using different cloud services for backup and synchronization, so that a problem with one service can’t affect all of your copies.

Katherine

Thank you so much! Does Scrivener recommend any particular syncing service besides Dropbox?

No.

At this time, Dropbox is the only supported service for use with iOS Scrivener. The reason is that it is the only service that gives developers access to the file-level operations needed to synchronize a Scrivener project.