How to share content between projects?

Hi guys!

I’m new to Scrivener and there is something which concerns me a bit. So, I have a project where my binder is already organized the way I want and everything, but I need to know how I’m gonna share some content with other projects. This content is like my world bible, and I don’t want to manually copy and past every time I’m making a short story in another project. Any idea?

Thanks in advance

You can’t view the contents of one project from within another project window. You might be able to generate links that will open the other project and then display a particular document (not sure if that’s a version 1 feature or not), but I doubt that’s what you’re after.

A solution that people who write series often implement is to have one master project that contains all related books, world background, etc… You can do this by creating a folder for each book/short story inside your Manuscript folder. In the compile settings, you can specify one of those sub-folders as the compile target. Just be sure to change your front matter to match the book you’re working on.

Thanks for replying.

Are you saying that it is a good idea to have all the books in the same project?

There are no hard-and-fast rules. I guess it comes down to how much revision history of your story bible do you need to keep up with? There are also risks if you’re prone to using global search and replace, or if you are changing how you use various Scrivener features in ways that might not be compatible with your past organizational setup. For instance, you might decide you want to track characters using Keywords in one book, and then by book 3, you’re using them for something else entirely; do you delete the keywords that are cluttering things up now, removing that information from book one, or do you keep all the unique keywords and simply deal with having multiple categories of keywords for as long as you’re producing works in a given world?