I can't view a Mac scriv file on Windows 10 to open it on Windows

I am sure this has to have been answered somewhere in these boards before. I’m sorry, but I can’t find it.

I have Scrivener on Mac. I have been using it for a couple of years. I now have Scrivener for Windows 10. I want to open my files cross operating system. From what I have found on this site, I need to view the contents of the scriv file in Windows. I then have to open the scrivx file in Windows. I can’t view the Mac file contents on Windows. I have tried WinZip, and Win7. I have searched the internet and these boards. Could someone, please tell me how to view the scriv file in Windows?

I bought Scrivener specifically for its cross system compatibility but I have continued to run into problem after problem. This is just the latest. Could someone please tell me how to view the contents of the Mac scriv file so I can try and open the scrivx file in Windows?

How did you transfer the project from the Mac system?

A Scrivener project (.scriv) is actually a folder, with subfolders. The .scrivx file lives inside this folder and is the master index used to build the Binder. The only difference between Mac and Windows is that Mac OS hides the contents of the folder, while Windows does not. The actual format is identical between the two versions of Scrivener.

When you say you “can’t view” the project in Windows, what do you mean? Are you unable to see the contents of the .scriv folder?

The first thing is make sure you’re securely syncing your files between your two computers. We recommend Dropbox for this. Setting up sync will allow you to view and edit your project from either computer.