I want to write a book with pictures and music and I want the software to look like a book while I’m writing it. What software is best for this?

I am new to the writing scene and I am looking to ride a Noble that has pictures as well as music in it and I’m looking for the best software to use that will make it look like a book while I’m writing the book I’m an older person and this seems like the simplest way for me to accomplish my goal Anyone have suggestions?

Scrivener may not be suitable for you, based on what you say. Have you tried Microsoft Word which can handle all embedded images and music files and has views which may meet your needs to look like a book while writing.

Probably not Scrivener. Accordingly, I’m moving the thread to our forum on other software, where you may get better responses.

Are you Mac or Win?

If Mac, the free Pages WP has more DTP features than Word or Scrivener and can publish direct to ePub/Apple Books.

I am not sure I agree with the feedback I am seeing here. I have quite a few illustrations and photographs in my Scrivener document, I indent when I have to/want to, and I have styles saved for heading levels just like in Word or any other word processor. I am doing precisely what you suggest so I am using Scrivener (mac) to do just that. Scrivener’s way of doing things takes a little getting used to as you have to use the compiler to see what it looks like as a PDF. Of course, Scrivener is not a word processor. Although, once you stop trying to think that it should act like a word processor, exactly, you are going to me amazed.

1 Like

Are you embedding music files? That and the desire for something that “looks like a book” were what made me think Scrivener was not what the OP was looking for.

In any case, it’s easy enough to decide for yourself whether Scrivener will meet your needs. Our free trial is here: Download Scrivener | Literature & Latte

1 Like

The OP said, ‘looks like a book.’