I'm a Fraud

Well, not a fraud exactly but, given that I’m post this in the I’m a writer section of the forum, it’s not too far off because, as I haven’t actually written anything yet, I don’t yet consider myself to be a writer. The only thing I’ve published is a blog post and I only did that 3 days ago.

I actually joined this community 7 1/2 years ago when I first started to dabble in Scrivener but I never did an introduction post. Anyway, better late than never. I’m not going to tell you all about myself as, if you are really bored (and, to be fair, many are at the moment), you can read the Bio in the link in my signature.

I finally started writing my novel in earnest a couple of weeks ago but, 5 chapters & 10,000 words in, I’ve hit a block with regards to plot so I’ve had to go back and rethink. I’ve downloaded the trial of Scapple to see if it’s useful for me, anyone got any good tips for getting the most out of it. Also, any tips or methods of getting around these types of plot blockages?

This is a fun subject. I suspect everyone does it differently.

Something I do is set my characters wandering and see what happens/turns up. When writing a first draft, the goal is to get to the end; the state of the writing is immaterial. Once you have a story, you can plan – if you want to.

For example, my pair of protagonists turned up in a new land, and three guides had been sent to take them where they need to go. I had no idea what would happen in between. So I set them off walking. Suddenly the guides became nervous and had everyone hide. Some strange folk were approaching and – for some reason – the guides wanted to avoid them. I had some fun with what the strangers did and, of course, afterwards the protags wanted to know what was going on.

In subsequent edits, the strangers became a major plot point – well, the organisation they belonged to did – but if I hadn’t set off wandering, none of it would have happened, and the organisation would never have come to be.