I'm a writer and a Theme Builder

As a Theme Builder for Scrivener 3, I wrote an e-book about Mastering Scrivener Themes.
Although beginning Theme Builders will find everything they need to change the color of the Binder background, or replace the arrows in front of folders in the Binder with arrows that have better contrast, this book digs deep into the topic of creating Themes for Scrivener 3. It goes far beyond changing colors and enables you to style the Scrivener UI to your every wish. A version of the e-book for macOS computers is under development.

A voucher at the end of the e-book, gives you a 50% discount on the price of the TropicalNight Windows Theme. Most examples in the book are taken from that Theme. An AutoHotKey-script to reload Themes fast is available for free to every Theme Builder.

Mastering Scrivener Themes - Omslag e-boek

I’ve had a blast writ­ing this book in Scrivener while build­ing my Theme called Trop­i­cal­Night and de­vel­op­ing an Au­to­HotKey-script to reload themes at the same time. The Theme is based on the color pal­ette of a box of tea sa­chets. I can’t share it with you be­cause of copy­right is­sues. I have tried and con­tacted the il­lus­tra­tor, but it didn’t work out.

Many times it was un­clear whether the cre­ation of the Theme in­spired the book or the other way around, but many of the dis­cov­er­ies cre­at­ing my Theme be­came a good part of this book. For me, the re­al­iza­tion of what is pos­si­ble was a great mo­ti­va­tion to get this in­for­ma­tion out there and share it with you.

It was not easy to write about Scrivener Themes in Scrivener. Many modal win­dows made it hard to write about them and see the di­a­log win­dow at the same time, for ex­am­ple. This made cre­at­ing tem­po­rary screen­shots nec­es­sary, so I could see what I was writ­ing about. Mean­while, my writ­ing en­vi­ron­ment be­came more and more so­phis­ti­cated, and writ­ing this book meant I tested the Theme on the go, as well.