Inserting in-line Latex equations and compiling to .tex

I’m fairly new to Scrivener and experienced with Latex. I am using Scrivener to organize my graduate thesis writing. My current workflow is Scrivener → compile to .tex using a modified version of the “General Non-fiction (Latex)” template → compile to .pdf (outside of scrivener). I use this workflow so that I can type biblatex commands as I’m writing (ie \parencite{blahblahblah}) and then when compiling to PDF, attach my .bib bibliography file (generated by Zotero) and have the latex compiler replace these commands with the appropriate citation. (If there’s a way to simplify this process and do it within Scrivener, please let me know… :wink:)

Anyways, my question is about how to handle in-line math mode and special characters which Latex doesn’t like. I want to:

1. Style in-line math (eg c_i = 54) as an “Inline Equation” and have the compiler add $…$ on either side of the equation
  2. Escape $s when used outside of a math situation (eg $7.5 billion) so that they print as literal strings and aren’t interpreted as entering math mode.

I have figured out how to do 1 successfully using the Compile Format Designer/Styles options. I have figured out how to do 2 using the Compile Format Designer/Replacements options. The problem seems to be that when I apply both 1 and 2, all $ characters, including the ones inserted during 1, get escaped, making inline equations totally wonky.

How would you recommend resolving this so that literal $s and inline equations both get compiled correctly? I’m sure it’s fixable, but I’m having a hard time figuring it out. Thank you for your help! :smile:

Welcome to the forum!

This sounds like something that @nontroppo should be able to help you with, especially citations and scholarly formatting. In the meantime, you can search his name in the forums for previous posts. He created a wiki about citation options and has numerous Latex/Pandoc discussions.