Is there any way to retrieve lost text? Scrivener newbie here and freaking out!

To preface this, I’m relatively new to Scrivener and am aware that what I did was really careless :frowning: Please tell me there’s some way to recover my lost text?!

I wrote a significant chunk of text a few days ago and wanted to split the chapter into two separate text sections to make it more readable (at the time, I didn’t know there was a shortcut for this). I selected the second half of my chapter and pressed the Cmd-x shortcut, created a new text section, and was about to paste but didn’t because I got distracted by someone at the door. This couldn’t have been more than three days ago. Fast-forward to this morning, I opened my Scrivener project to add some more edits to the chapter, and I noticed the whole second half is missing – I now realise this is because I forgot to paste it. I’ve gone through every single one of my backups, and the missing section isn’t there (I’m guessing because the file was backed up when I exited Scrivener without having pasted the cut selection). PLEASE tell me there’s some form of clipboard history or way to retrieve my missing text? I’m using a new MacBook Air so I don’t have any external clipboard apps installed yet. I know this was a very silly thing to have happened, but I’m really hoping Scrivener has a feature to store cut text or something of the sort… please tell me if there’s a way to fix this? :cry:

Unfortunately, given the described sequence of events, the clipboard would have been lost during that period of time. Since the text was both written and deleted within a single session, there be no automated backup from which to retrieve it from. You went to the right place, but the circumstances were wrong. :frowning: