Issues between mac and windows cross compatibility

Hi there,

I hope this hasn’t been answered before. I searched around for an answer and couldn’t find one. I really want to use Scrivener as my writing software, but I’m having a lot of trouble getting the cross compatibility and syncing to work correctly. Specifically, I’m having issues going from Mac to Windows.

I can’t get an image to be uploaded, so here is an imgur link to show the font! https://imgur.com/a/cDGARuz

I’ve tried using Git (I’m a programmer by trade) and google drive, and Git completely mangled the formatting when I opened the mac project on windows: no spacing at all, all formatting gone.

When I use drive, most of the formatting is ok. However, in both cases, the font on windows is completely wrong.

It’s hard to describe, so here’s a picture of my first graf.

Can anyone tell me what setting is causing this? I tried changing fonts, changing sizes, changing from banner to text, nothing changed it. I tried changing themes, which did not fix it, and syncing also works ok if I change line ending stuff in Git, but Drive worked as well.

I can put up with fixing some line ending stuff as long as the font starts to work ok!

As a first test, use the File → Backup → Backup To command on the Mac to create a ZIP backup of the project. Transfer it to the Windows system by any convenient method, unzip, and open the project in Scrivener.

Neither Git nor Google Drive is supported for use with Scrivener projects; this test bypasses both to confirm that the project itself works correctly (or not) on both systems.

Thanks for the reply! I just tried this and ran into the same Font issues. The line endings were all ok though. Similar to Drive.

I could just be the way that the two systems handle fonts. I had to muck around with fonts on macOS so that after compiling it came out the way I wanted.

Which OS displays the fonts that way that you want?