Okay, I am looking at getting my oldest Scrivener. She is a teen and currently has a mac. But I am trying to figure out if I get scrivener and in 2 or 3 years when we upgrade her laptop, if we can transfer her account to a PC from the mac. We don’t know what we will get her laptop wise, as it is not time for that. Is it a problem and would I have to buy a new subscription or whatever for her to change from a mac to a PC?
To run Scrivener on both Windows and Mac machines, you will need a separate licence for each platform. This allows us to keep prices as low as possible for users who only need to run our software on one platform.
Please note that it is not possible to transfer a licence from one platform to another, so if she has a Mac license now and switches to a PC later, a new license will need to be purchased for the Windows platform.
Okay, that makes sense. Also, would she be able to get her work from her mac if she moved to a PC? and if I bought the bundle and used the PC for myself, would she see my work and I hers?
Scrivener is not a subscription service – licences are a one-time purchase. You might benefit from looking at the FAQ: https://scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb/purchasing-and-installation.
Any project created in Scrivener is saved to the hard drive of the computer on which is it created. If you want to synchronise projects, you will have to set that up using a service like Dropbox. Again, the appropriate section of the FAQ will tell you how this is done.
Yes, there are definitely ways to share from Mac to PC and vice versa. When Scrivener 3 for Windows officially launches (beta version is available now), it will be even easier to share between the 2 platforms as projects will be compatible between the versions. For now, if using Scrivener 1 for Windows and Scrivener 3 for Mac, it’s just one extra step to export from the Mac as a Scrivener 2 project (from File>Export menu) and use that export file on the Windows version.
When you buy the license, the projects are stored separately on your hard drive by default (unless you opt for another location). Unless you’re sharing the same computer and user account between you, or sharing the same cloud storage (like Dropbox), you shouldn’t see each other’s work. Even different user accounts on the same computer shouldn’t have access to same projects unless your settings are shared across accounts, so you don’t have to worry if you’re using 2 separate computers; only synching through same cloud storage would really give you both access to the same thing.