Macbook Air

OK, I’m a relative Mac newbie, running Scrivener on Mac Mini (with El Capitan) for a few months now. I want to add a Macbook Air to my arsenal now. I’m looking at getting a refurb (as I did with the Mini). I have two questions at this point. This is the sort of machine I’m looking at:

Questions:

1. If I’m writing typical novel-length projects with Scrivener–mostly text, very few big files, few pix, few PDFs, etc.–will 4GB RAM run Scrivener comfortably? This is going to be a writing machine and nothing else.

2. I’ve seen some grumbling online about the MBA taking a substantial battery hit from running El Capitan. Is that an urban legend, or is it a genuine problem?

THANKS for any thoughts,
Dutch

I’m running an MBA 13" with just 4GB RAM (and have my main three apps (Scriv. TBx and DTPro) open nearly all the time) and I’ve never had a memory problem (except my own); same with the battery question: either it’s a myth or I’ve been incredibly lucky …

I’ve got 8G in my MBAir, and rarely have seen it use more than 4G with many applications open and running. Mind you, I don’t use Photoshop, or edit videos or anything that does use a lot of resources; I just typically have a lot of documents open in addition to a Scrivener project or four.

In short; I think 4 Gigabytes is plenty of RAM.

As for battery life; I haven’t noticed it being an issue after I upgraded the OS last year.

I have a late 2010 13" MBA with only 2GB RAM, 1.8GHz Core 2 Duo, slow bus speed and much less L2 Cache. With the various things that are loaded at boot up, and running GyazMail and Safari, I have roughly 400MB RAM free. I’ve never had any trouble running Scrivener; I use GraphicConverter 10 for photo editing on it, sometimes concurrently with Scrivener, Safari, etc. I also do video conversions on it with iFfmpeg, and occasional little bits of editing with iMovie, but I haven’t tried doing that with Scrivener running!